LG Velvet Specs are out ahead of official launch

There have been multiple rumours over the past few months regarding LG ditching its G series. The South Korean electronics giant confirmed it by revealing new ‘Velvet’ branding, which was later followed by a teaser video exposing the entire design to the public ahead of official launch scheduled for May 7. Now, thanks to a set of promotional teaser posters and a retail spec sheet, we know almost everything about the upcoming LG Velvet.

According to the official teaser posters, the new LG Velvet will have all the useful features from flagship smartphones, even though it will be a mid-range handset with support for 5G connectivity priced around 800,000 Won ($650).

The device will have support for stabilization on video recordings but the teaser does not say clearly whether it will be software-based or via OIS. It will also have different modes such as slow-motion and time-lapse to name a few.

The display on the phone will be using an OLED panel with a tiny dew-drop notch at the top similar to the Mi 10 Youth Edition to accommodate the selfie camera. As per the poster, the phone will output immersive stereo sound through vibrations from the panel just like last year’s LG G8 ThinQ and high-end OLED TVs from LG and Sony.

Also, the device will have all the basic necessary stuff such as IP68 dust and water resistance, MIL-STD-810G certification for durability, a 4,300 mAh battery, and wireless charging.

The retail spec sheet further confirms the presence of Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 paired with 8GB RAM and 128GB with support for microSD card up to 2TB. It also reveals the phone’s camera setup. The rear rain drop triple camera will include a 48MP primary sensor, an 8MP ultra-wide shooter, and a 5MP depth sensor. Whereas, the front camera will be of 16 megapixels.

The handset will measure 167.1 x 74.0 x 7.85mm in dimensions and will weigh 180 grams. Last but not least, it will be available in Aurora White, Aurora Grey, Aurora Green, and Sunset color options.


Recent Posts

See All

Drop Me a Line, Let Me Know What You Think

© 2019 by DoThink